Les photos de nuit sont un excellent moyen de mettre en valeur la beauté de votre environnement lorsqu'il fait nuit. Avec le GoPro Night Lapsevous pouvez capturer la façon dont le monde change pendant les heures d'obscurité. C'est un excellent outil pour mettre en valeur votre ville préférée et capturer sa beauté la nuit.

However, before you go out there to capture night lapse shots with your GoPro camera, there are a few things you should know.

In this article, you’ll get to know about some des conseils utiles pour créer des tours de nuit épiques.

What is GoPro Night Lapse


Comme son nom l'indique, le GoPro Night Lapse fait référence aux vidéos à intervalles réguliers capturées dans des conditions d'obscurité et de faible luminosité. Lorsque le mode night-lapse de la GoPro est activé, la caméra permet un temps d'exposition plus long pour capturer des clichés nocturnes plus clairs lorsqu'il n'y a pas beaucoup de lumière disponible autour de vous. Pour ce faire, elle ajuste automatiquement la vitesse d'obturation pour laisser entrer plus de lumière et choisit l'intervalle qui vous donnera les meilleurs résultats.

En fonction de l'éclairage de votre environnement à un moment donné, les utilisateurs peuvent également choisir manuellement différentes vitesses d'obturation. Un éclairage faible nécessite généralement des expositions plus élevées afin de capturer plus de détails dans l'obscurité. Les zones plus lumineuses, comme le ciel urbain sous les lampadaires, nécessitent des photos moins intenses, car elles sont déjà éclairées par des sources artificielles telles que des lampes et des fenêtres. Mais, si vous n'êtes pas sûr, vous pouvez régler la vitesse d'obturation sur Auto et laissez votre GoPro décider.

Please note that GoPro Night Lapse shots are strictly for those occasions when your camera is stationary and held by a mont ou un tripode.

Photo GoPro Night Lapse

Tout comme les photos en accéléré, vous pouvez également capturer Photos en accéléré de nuit avec GoPro. Le format photo prend une série continue de photos à intervalles réguliers pendant votre séance de nuit. Vous pouvez ensuite regarder toutes vos photos et retrouver les meilleurs clichés plus tard.

Pour utiliser ce mode, il vous suffit de - vous rendre à l'adresse suivante Format dans les paramètres et choisissez Photo pour capturer une série de photos à des intervalles définis, parmi lesquelles vous pourrez sélectionner les meilleures plus tard.

Laps de nuit

How to Setup GoPro Night Lapse


Voici comment vous pouvez configurer le GoPro Night Lapse :

To enable Night Lapse on the Hero 12 Black/Hero 11 Black / Hero 10 Black / Hero 9 Black / Hero 8 Black

  1. Balayez vers la gauche jusqu'à ce que vous atteigniez le mode Time Lapse.
  2. Appuyez sur le paramètre actuel du mode Time Lapse, puis faites défiler jusqu'à Night Lapse.
  3. Appuyez sur l'icône du crayon pour ajuster les paramètres de votre Night Lapse.

To enable Night Lapse on other GoPro cameras

  1. Sélectionnez le bouton Mode/Power jusqu'à ce que Multi-Shot soit sélectionné.
  2. Appuyez sur le bouton Paramètres/Tabulation et modifiez le paramètre Mode pour le mettre sur Night Lapse.

gopro night lapse set up

 

Paramètres de la Lapse de nuit de la GoPro


Après avoir configuré le mode Night Lapse, il est recommandé de choisir les meilleurs réglages pour la prise de vue. Voici les paramètres que vous devez examiner :

  • The camera’s Shutter speed
  • Night Lapse photo interval

Comment régler la vitesse d'obturation sur votre GoPro

Hero 12 Black/ Hero 11 Black / Hero 10 Black / Hero 9 Black / Hero 8 Black

  1. Une fois en mode Night Lapse, appuyez sur l'icône en bas au milieu de l'écran de votre appareil photo et maintenez-la enfoncée, OU appuyez sur cette icône, puis sur l'icône en forme de crayon à côté de Night Lapse.
  2. Obturateur du robinet
  3. Utilisez l'échelle coulissante sur le côté droit de l'écran pour choisir la vitesse d'obturation souhaitée.

Héros 7 noir

  1. Sur l'écran tactile de l'appareil photo, faites glisser le curseur vers la gauche pour Photo ou vers la droite pour Time Lapse, selon que vous voulez Photo de nuit ou Night Lapse Photo.
  2. Appuyez sur l'icône de l'appareil photo en bas à gauche et sélectionnez l'option Photo de nuit ou Photo Lapse de nuit.
  3. Appuyez sur l'option paramètres dans le milieu inférieur de l'écran tactile.
  4. Sélectionnez l'option Obturateur et choisissez la vitesse souhaitée.

Hero 6 Black / Hero 5 Black

  1. Appuyez d'abord sur le bouton Mode/Power jusqu'à ce que Photo ou Multi-Shot soit sélectionné.
  2. Appuyez sur l'icône Photo dans le coin inférieur gauche de l'écran LCD arrière.
  3. Appuyez sur le mode photo de nuit.
  4. Une option Obturateur est maintenant disponible en bas au centre de l'écran LCD. Tapez sur l'option Obturateur.
  5. Balayez vers la gauche ou la droite ou touchez la vitesse d'obturation souhaitée (la valeur par défaut est Auto).

En savoir plus Qu'est-ce qu'une vitesse d'obturation et comment la régler manuellement ? cliquez sur le lien.

Comment ajuster l'intervalle du Night Lapse sur votre GoPro

Hero 12 Black/ Hero 11 Black / Hero 10 Black / Hero 9 Black / Hero 8 Black

  1. Une fois en mode Night Lapse, appuyez sur l'icône en bas au milieu de l'écran de votre appareil photo et maintenez-la enfoncée, OU appuyez sur cette icône, puis sur l'icône en forme de crayon à côté de Night Lapse.
  2. Intervalle d'enregistrement
  3. Utilisez l'échelle coulissante sur le côté droit de l'écran pour choisir l'intervalle de photo souhaité.

Hero 7 Noir :

  1. Balayez vers la droite sur l'écran tactile de l'appareil photo jusqu'à ce que la fonction Time Lapse soit sélectionnée.
  2. Appuyez sur l'icône Time Lapse dans le coin inférieur gauche de l'écran LCD arrière.
  3. Appuyez sur le mode photo Lapse de nuit.
  4. Appuyez sur l'option de réglage en bas au milieu de l'écran.
  5. Appuyez sur Intervalle et sélectionnez l'option de votre choix.

Hero 6 Noir / Hero 5 Noir :

  1. Appuyez d'abord sur le bouton Mode/Power jusqu'à ce que la fonction Time Lapse soit sélectionnée.
  2. Appuyez sur l'icône Time Lapse dans le coin inférieur gauche de l'écran LCD arrière.
  3. Appuyez sur le mode photo Lapse de nuit.
  4. Une option Intervalle (INTR) est désormais disponible en bas au centre de l'écran LCD. Tapez sur l'option Intervalle.
  5. Balayez vers la gauche ou la droite ou touchez le paramètre d'intervalle souhaité.

GoPro Hero 11 Effets Night Lapse


Voici les trois nouveaux effets de laps de temps nocturnes qui ont été introduits dans GoPro Hero 11 Black :

Sentiers d'étoiles

Star trails utilise la rotation de la Terre et les étoiles pour créer de magnifiques traînées de lumière dans le ciel. Fixez votre appareil photo sur un objet fixe ou un trépied, dirigez-le vers le ciel nocturne et laissez la physique prendre le relais. Utilisez l'effet de longueur de traînée pour choisir une longueur de traînée maximum, longue ou courte.

gopro hero 11 traînées d'étoiles

 

 

Peinture claire

Uses a long exposure to let you create brilliant brush stroke effects with moving light. Mount your camera to a stationary object or tripod, grab a flashlight, glow stick, or another light source, and get creative.

light painting night lapse

 

Sentiers lumineux pour véhicules

Montez votre caméra sur un objet fixe ou un trépied et dirigez votre caméra vers des véhicules en mouvement pour créer de superbes séquences lumineuses. Assurez-vous d'utiliser l'effet de longueur de piste pour choisir des longueurs de piste maximales, longues ou courtes.

Plus d'informations sur GoPro Hero 11 Night Lapse in Guide des paramètres

pistes lumineuses pour véhicules

 

7 conseils pour des prises de vue nocturnes épiques à la GoPro


Voici les sept conseils utiles pour capturer de superbes photos de nuit :

Keep your Camera Stable (Use Mounts)

Une caméra stable est absolument nécessaire pour obtenir des séquences Night Lapse de qualité. L'exposition prolongée et la vitesse d'obturation en mode Night Lapse permettent à la GoPro de capturer même la lumière minimale disponible dans la scène. Cependant, cela signifie également que s'il y a un mouvement, de la caméra ou de la scène, il sera beaucoup plus important en mode Night Lapse.

Par conséquent, l'utilisation d'accessoires de montage tels que le Trépied intégré de 3-Wayou d'autres Supports pour trépieds permet de s'assurer que l'appareil photo reste en position.

Use Protune

Utilisez Protune pour les fonctions photo afin d'affiner vos séquences Night Lapse. Protune vous permet de modifier la balance des blancs, le profil de couleur, la limite ISO, la netteté et la compensation de l'exposition.

Pour en savoir plus sur Protune, consultez l'article suivant : GoPro Protune : Explication des paramètres avancés + meilleurs paramètres pour la photo et la vidéo.

Use a Light Source

Les séquences nocturnes sans aucune source de lumière ne montreront pratiquement rien. Par conséquent, s'il n'y a pas de source de lumière dans la scène que vous enregistrez, vous pouvez utiliser une LED externe ou intégrée à votre caméra comme source de lumière.

Vous pouvez également utiliser une source de lumière externe pour améliorer la qualité de vos séquences nocturnes. Il existe plusieurs lampes LED GoPro de tierce partie disponibles qui peuvent être fixées à votre caméra GoPro ou utilisées séparément. Ces lampes offrent une intensité plus élevée et une gamme de couleurs plus large que la LED intégrée à votre caméra, ce qui permet d'obtenir des images plus claires et plus vivantes.

Il est important de noter que l'utilisation d'une source de lumière externe pour les séquences nocturnes peut nécessiter des ajustements des paramètres de l'appareil photo, tels que la réduction de la vitesse d'obturation ou la réduction de l'intensité lumineuse. l'augmentation de la sensibilité ISO. Expérimentez avec différents réglages et sources de lumière pour trouver la meilleure combinaison pour vos conditions de prise de vue spécifiques.

En savoir plus sur l'ISO : Qu'est-ce que GoPro ISO ? (Effets et paramètres GoPro expliqués !)

Choose the Right Shutter Speed

Pour obtenir de superbes photos de nuit, il est extrêmement important de choisir la bonne vitesse d'obturation afin de faire entrer la lumière appropriée dans l'objectif pour obtenir les meilleurs résultats.

For example, for dawn, dusk, twilight, or traffic scenes at night, you need a shutter speed of 2-10 seconds. However, for night sky with a distant/minimal light source like the moon or stars, the vitesse d'obturation of 20-30 seconds is optimal. And in case you feel that the level and intensity of light will change while shooting the night lapse, it’s best to set the shutter speed to Auto pour laisser l'appareil photo régler automatiquement la vitesse d'obturation.

Choose the Right Shooting Interval

Pour chaque seconde que vous souhaitez voir apparaître dans la vidéo finale, définissez des intervalles de prise de vue d'environ 5 secondes. Par exemple, si vous voulez 20 secondes par image, programmez 100 prises de vue.) C'est ce qu'on appelle "filmer à double vitesse".

Le choix de l'intervalle de prise de vue approprié dépend également du type de mouvement que vous souhaitez capturer. Pour les sujets en mouvement rapide comme les phares de voiture, un intervalle de prise de vue plus court (1-2 secondes) peut être nécessaire pour capturer suffisamment d'images et créer un effet de fluidité. Pour les sujets ou les scènes plus lents, un intervalle de prise de vue plus long (10-15 secondes par exemple) peut être utilisé.

Il est important de garder à l'esprit que l'intervalle de prise de vue affecte également la longueur finale de la vidéo night lapse. Un intervalle de prise de vue plus court se traduira par une vidéo finale plus longue, tandis qu'un intervalle de prise de vue plus long se traduira par une vidéo plus courte. Il est donc important de déterminer la longueur souhaitée de la vidéo finale avant de sélectionner l'intervalle de prise de vue.

Take Test Photos Before Shooting

Tout comme les séquences time lapse standard, le Night Lapse consiste à prendre des photos sur une longue période de temps. Si la situation le permet, vous devriez prendre quelques photos d'essai avec l'appareil photo en position avant la prise de vue. Cela vous permettra d'apporter les modifications nécessaires aux réglages, avant de capturer une longue séquence Night Lapse.

Use Video Editing Software for Post Production

You can use a good video editing software like GoPro’s own Studio GoPro pour obtenir d'excellents résultats en post-production. Il vous aidera à compiler la séquence, à modifier la vitesse de lecture et à appliquer des fonctions telles que la correction des couleurs et les panoramiques.

Quelle est la durée du Night Lapse GoPro ?


La durée d'une vidéo Night Lapse sur GoPro dépend des paramètres choisis.

Vous pouvez régler la durée de chaque exposition individuelle, généralement de 2 à 30 secondeset la durée totale de la vidéo en accéléré, qui peut être de jusqu'à 8 heures.

Ainsi, par exemple, si vous fixez le temps d'exposition à 10 secondes et la durée totale de la vidéo à 4 heures, vous obtiendrez une vidéo d'une durée de 1 minute et 20 secondes.

N'oubliez pas que la durée de votre vidéo Night Lapse dépend également de l'espace de stockage disponible sur la carte mémoire de votre GoPro.

gopro night lapse how long

Quelle est la différence entre le Time Lapse et le Night Lapse de GoPro ?


GoPro time lapse et night lapse sont deux modes de prise de vue différents disponibles sur les caméras GoPro. La principale différence entre eux est le moment de la journée auquel ils sont destinés à être utilisés.

Mode Time lapse est utilisé pendant la journée pour capturer séquences au ralenti d'événements qui se déroulent sur une longue période de temps. Elle consiste à prendre une série d'images fixes à intervalles réguliers, qui sont ensuite compilées dans une séquence vidéo montrant les événements qui se déroulent à un rythme beaucoup plus rapide.

D'autre part, laps de nuit est spécialement conçu pour être utilisé dans les basse lumière ou de nuit. Il permet de capturer une série d'images en pose longue à intervalles réguliers, qui sont ensuite compilées dans une séquence vidéo montrant la scène telle qu'elle évolue dans le temps. Ce mode est particulièrement utile pour capturer des traînées d'étoiles, des peintures lumineuses et d'autres scènes nocturnes qui nécessitent des temps d'exposition plus longs.

Le mode Time lapse permet de capturer des événements qui se déroulent pendant la journée, tandis que le mode Night lapse permet de capturer des scènes nocturnes qui nécessitent des expositions plus longues. En savoir plus sur le mode Time lapse : Paramètres de laps de temps GoPro [GUIDE complet].

gopro time lapse

La GoPro peut-elle filmer le ciel nocturne ?


OuiLes caméras GoPro peuvent filmer le ciel nocturne. Avec les bons réglages et accessoires, vous pouvez capturer de superbes images en time-lapse et night-lapse des étoiles et de la Voie lactée. Pour filmer le ciel nocturne avec une GoPro, il est important de choisir un endroit avec pollution lumineuse minimalePour ce faire, utilisez un trépied pour stabiliser l'appareil photo et réglez les paramètres sur une sensibilité ISO élevée et une vitesse d'obturation lente.

En outre, il est recommandé d'utiliser un objectif grand angle et de régler la mise au point sur l'infini. Le mode Night-lapse de la Hero 12 et de la Hero 11 propose des fonctions telles que "Traînées d'étoiles", "Peinture lumineuse" et "Traînées lumineuses de véhicules" qui peuvent ajouter des effets créatifs à vos séquences du ciel nocturne. Dans l'ensemble, les caméras GoPro peuvent produire des images impressionnantes du ciel nocturne, mais il est important d'expérimenter différents réglages et accessoires pour obtenir les meilleurs résultats.

gopro ciel nocturne

 

Partager c'est aimer ❤️

J'espère que ce guide vous a aidé à apprendre à créer des séquences de nuit de qualité 🙂

 

Merci d'avoir lu!

Si vous avez trouvé cet article utile, veuillez le partager sur les réseaux sociaux avec votre famille et vos amis !


Articles connexes :

Night shots are a great way to show off the beauty of your surroundings while it’s dark. With the GoPro Night Lapse, you can capture the way the world changes during the hours of darkness. It’s an excellent tool for showing off your favorite city, and capturing how beautiful it looks at night.

However, before you go out there to capture night lapse shots with your GoPro camera, there are a few things you should know.

In this article, you’ll get to know about some useful tips to create epic night lapses.

What is GoPro Night Lapse


As the name suggests, the GoPro Night Lapse refers to time lapse videos captured in dark and low light conditions. When the GoPro night-lapse mode is on, the camera allows for longer exposure time to capture clearer night time shots when there isn’t much available light around you. To achieve this, it automatically adjusts the shutter speed to let more light in and picks the interval that will give you the best results.

Depending on how lit your surroundings are at any given moment, users can also manually choose different shutter speeds. Lower lighting usually needs higher exposures so that more detail is captured from the darkness. Brighter areas like city skylines under streetlights would require less intense photos since they’re already illuminated by artificial sources such as lamps and windows. But, in case you aren’t sure, you can set the shutter speed to ‘Auto’ and let your GoPro decide.

Please note that GoPro Night Lapse shots are strictly for those occasions when your camera is stationary and held by a mount or a tripod.

GoPro Night Lapse Photo

Just like time lapse photos, you can also capture Night Lapse photos with GoPro. The photo format takes a continuous series of photos at set intervals during your night shoot. You can then look through all of your photos and find the best shots later.

To use this mode, all you need to do is – go to Format in settings and choose Photo to capture a series of photos at set intervals, out of which you can select the best ones later on.

Night Lapse

How to Setup GoPro Night Lapse


Here’s how you can setup GoPro Night Lapse:

To enable Night Lapse on the Hero 12 Black/Hero 11 Black / Hero 10 Black / Hero 9 Black / Hero 8 Black

  1. Swipe left until you reach Time Lapse mode.
  2. Tap the current Time Lapse mode setting, then scroll down to Night Lapse.
  3. Tap the pencil icon to adjust your Night Lapse settings.

To enable Night Lapse on other GoPro cameras

  1. Select the Mode/Power button until Multi-Shot is selected.
  2. Press the Settings/Tab button and change the Mode setting to Night Lapse.

gopro night lapse set up

 

GoPro Night Lapse Settings


After setting up the Night Lapse mode, it’s recommended that you choose the best settings for you to shoot. Here are those settings that you need to look at:

  • The camera’s Shutter speed
  • Night Lapse photo interval

How to Adjust the Shutter Speed on Your GoPro

Hero 12 Black/ Hero 11 Black / Hero 10 Black / Hero 9 Black / Hero 8 Black

  1. Once in Night Lapse mode, press and hold the icon in the bottom middle of your camera screen, OR tap this icon and then tap the pencil icon next to Night Lapse
  2. Tap Shutter
  3. Use the sliding scale on the right side of the screen to choose your desired Shutter speed

Hero 7 Black

  1. On the camera touchscreen swipe left for Photo or right for Time Lapse, depending if you want Night Photo or Night Lapse Photo.
  2. Tap the camera icon on the bottom left and select either Night Photo or Night Lapse Photo option
  3. Tap the settings option in the bottom-middle of the touch screen.
  4. Select the Shutter option and choose your desired speed.

Hero 6 Black / Hero 5 Black

  1. First press the Mode/Power button until Photo or Multi-Shot is selected.
  2. Tap the Photo icon along the lower left corner on the back LCD screen.
  3. Tap the Night photo mode.
  4. A Shutter option is now available along the bottom center of the LCD screen. Tap on the Shutter option.
  5. Swipe left or right or tap the desired shutter speed (the default will be Auto).

Read more what is a shutter speed and how to adjust it manually click the link.

How to Adjust the Night Lapse Interval on Your GoPro

Hero 12 Black/ Hero 11 Black / Hero 10 Black / Hero 9 Black / Hero 8 Black

  1. Once in Night Lapse mode, press and hold the icon in the bottom middle of your camera screen, OR tap this icon and then tap the pencil icon next to Night Lapse
  2. Tap Interval
  3. Use the sliding scale on the right side of the screen to choose your desired photo Interval

Hero 7 Black:

  1. Swipe right on the camera touch screen until the Time Lapse is selected.
  2. Tap the Time Lapse icon along the lower left corner on the back LCD screen.
  3. Tap the Night Lapse photo mode.
  4. Tap the setting option in the bottom-middle of the screen.
  5. Tap Interval and select your desired option.

Hero 6 Black / Hero 5 Black:

  1. First press the Mode/Power button until the Time Lapse is selected.
  2. Tap the Time Lapse icon along the lower left corner on the back LCD screen.
  3. Tap the Night Lapse photo mode.
  4. An Interval option (INTR) is now available along the bottom center of the LCD screen. Tap on the Interval option.
  5. Swipe left or right or tap the desired Interval setting.

GoPro Hero 11 Night Lapse Effects


Here are the three new night lapse effects that have been introduced in GoPro Hero 11 Black:

Star Trails

Star trails uses the Earth’s rotation and the stars to create beautiful trails of light across the sky. Mount your camera to a stationary object or tripod, point it toward the night sky and let physics take over. Use the trail length effect to choose maximum, long, or short trail lengths.

gopro hero 11 star trails

 

 

Light Painting

Uses a long exposure to let you create brilliant brush stroke effects with moving light. Mount your camera to a stationary object or tripod, grab a flashlight, glow stick, or another light source, and get creative.

light painting night lapse

 

Vehicle Light Trails

Mount your camera to a stationary object or tripod and point your camera at moving vehicles to create stunning light trail footage. Be sure to use the trail length effect to choose maximum, long, or short trail lengths.

Read more on GoPro Hero 11 Night Lapse in Settings Guide

vehicle light trails

 

7 Tips for Epic GoPro Night Lapses


Here are the seven useful tips to capture some amazing night lapse shots:

Keep your Camera Stable (Use Mounts)

A stable camera is absolutely necessary for quality Night Lapse footage. The extended exposure/shutter speed in Night Lapse allows the GoPro to capture even the minimal light available in the scene. However, this also means that if there’s any movement, of the camera or within the scene, it will be much more prevalent in the night lapse mode.

Therefore, using Mounting Accessories like the 3-Way’s built-in tripod, or other Tripod Mounts would help ensure that your camera remains in position.

Use Protune

Use Protune for photo features to fine-tune your Night Lapse sequences. Protune allows you to alter the White Balance, Color Profile, ISO Limit, Sharpness and Exposure Compensation.

Read more on Protune in the following article: GoPro Protune: Advanced Settings Explained + Best Settings For Photo & Video.

Use a Light Source

Night lapses without any light sources will hardly show anything. Therefore, if there’s no light source in the scene you’re recording, you can use either an external or built-in LED on your camera as a light source.

You can also use an external light source to enhance the quality of your night lapse footage. There are several third-party GoPro LED lights available that can be attached to your GoPro camera or used separately. These lights offer a higher intensity and wider range of colors than the built-in LED on your camera, resulting in clearer and more vibrant footage.

It’s important to note that using an external light source for night lapse footage may require adjustments to your camera settings, such as decreasing the shutter speed or increasing the ISO. Experiment with different settings and light sources to find the best combination for your specific shooting conditions.

Read more on ISO: What is GoPro ISO? (Effects & GoPro Settings Explained!)

Choose the Right Shutter Speed

To get great shots during night time, choosing the right shutter speed is extremely important so that you are able to get the appropriate light into the lens for best results.

For example, for dawn, dusk, twilight, or traffic scenes at night, you need a shutter speed of 2-10 seconds. However, for night sky with a distant/minimal light source like the moon or stars, the shutter speed of 20-30 seconds is optimal. And in case you feel that the level and intensity of light will change while shooting the night lapse, it’s best to set the shutter speed to Auto to let the camera adjust the shutter speed automatically.

Choose the Right Shooting Interval

For every second that you want in the final video, set up approximately 5 seconds worth of shooting intervals. For example, if you want 20 seconds per frame, set up 100 shots). This is called “shooting at double speed.”

Choosing the right shooting interval also depends on the type of motion you want to capture. For fast-moving subjects like car lights, a shorter shooting interval (such as 1-2 seconds) may be necessary to capture enough frames and create a smooth effect. For slower subjects or scenes, a longer shooting interval (such as 10-15 seconds) can be used.

It’s important to keep in mind that shooting interval also affects the final length of the night lapse video. A shorter shooting interval will result in a longer final video, while a longer shooting interval will result in a shorter video. So, it’s important to determine the desired length of the final video before selecting the shooting interval.

Take Test Photos Before Shooting

Just like standard time lapse sequences, Night Lapse involves taking photos over an extended period of time. If the situation permits, you should take a couple of test photos with the camera in position before shooting. This will allow you to make any necessary alterations to the settings, prior to capturing a long Night Lapse sequence.

Use Video Editing Software for Post Production

You can use a good video editing software like GoPro’s own GoPro Studio to achieve great results during post production. It will help you compile the sequence, alter the speed of playback, and apply features like color correction and panning.

How Long is Night Lapse GoPro?


The duration of a Night Lapse video on GoPro depends on the settings you choose.

You can set the duration of each individual exposure, typically ranging from 2 to 30 seconds, and the overall length of the time-lapse video, which can be up to 8 hours long.

So, for example, if you set the exposure time to 10 seconds and the overall length of the video to 4 hours, you would end up with a video that is 1 minute and 20 seconds long.

Keep in mind that the length of your Night Lapse video also depends on the available storage space on your GoPro’s memory card.

gopro night lapse how long

What is The Difference Between GoPro Time Lapse and Night Lapse?


GoPro time lapse and night lapse are two different shooting modes available on GoPro cameras. The main difference between them is the time of day at which they are intended to be used.

Time lapse mode is used during the day to capture slow-motion footage of events that unfold over a long period of time. It involves taking a series of still images at regular intervals, which are then compiled into a video sequence that shows the events unfolding at a much faster pace.

On the other hand, night lapse mode is specifically designed for use in low-light or nighttime conditions. It works by capturing a series of long-exposure images at regular intervals, which are then compiled into a video sequence that shows the scene as it evolves over time. This mode is particularly useful for capturing star trails, light painting, and other night-time scenes that require longer exposure times.

Time lapse mode is for capturing events that happen during the day, while night lapse mode is for capturing night-time scenes that require longer exposures. Read more on Time lapse: GoPro Time Lapse Settings [Full GUIDE].

gopro time lapse

Can GoPro Shoot Night Sky?


Yes, GoPro cameras can shoot the night sky. With the right settings and accessories, you can capture stunning time-lapse and night-lapse footage of the stars and the Milky Way. To shoot the night sky with a GoPro, it’s important to choose a location with minimal light pollution, use a tripod to keep the camera steady, and adjust the settings to a high ISO and a slow shutter speed.

Additionally, it’s recommended to use a wide-angle lens and to set the focus to infinity. Night-lapse mode on Hero 12 and Hero 11 have features like “Star Trails,” “Light Painting,” and “Vehicle Light Trails” which can add creative effects to your footage of the night sky. Overall, GoPro cameras can produce impressive footage of the night sky, but it’s important to experiment with different settings and accessories to get the best results.

gopro night sky

 

Sharing is Caring ❤️

I hope this guide helped you learn how to create quality night lapse sequences 🙂

 

Thanks for reading!

If you found this article useful, please share it on social media with your family and friends!


Related Articles: